Youth Charged Up at Seminar


The 10 students that represented WCEC for 2017: Front Row L-R Tori Thomas of Harmony, Mikalya Hubbard of Quitman, 2017 Youth Director Spring Coleman of Mineola, Jozie Taylor of Lindale, and Brenley von Reyn of Quitman. Back Row L-R: Jordan Stanford of Winnsboro, Marshall Rogers of Winnsboro, Molly Tanner of Quitman, Tylik Simon of Winnsboro, Halle Griffin of Mineola and Diego Flores of Quitman.

While summer will soon be ending and students are enjoying their last few weeks before returning to school, many have used this time to learn and expand their horizons. Ten such high school students attended East Texas Rural Youth Electric Seminar, sponsored by the Wood County Electric Cooperative (WCEC) to boost their leadership skills to hold them in good stead for a lifetime.  

They spent a week at East Texas Baptist University in Marshall, Texas, which was the site of the seminar. There, over 100 high school students joined together to participate in workshops, seminars, and peer group activities focused on leadership development and competed for opportunities to win scholarships. 

WCEC annually offers this all expenses paid trip to sophomores and juniors who are attending high school in the WCEC service area. Participants were selected on the basis of overall excellence and involvement in extracurricular activities including leadership positions, academic awards, etc. 

During the event, Diego Flores, a student at Quitman, won the $750 Juan D. Nichols scholarship. Josie Taylor, a student at Lindale High School, was awarded the $750 Cooperative Scholarship. Tylik Simon was also chosen by his peers to represent WCEC at the seminar as a 2017 Youth Director.

Edit Module

We encourage you to post thoughtful and respectful comments on our stories and to share them through your favorite social networks.

Add your comment: