Pre-Civil War Home Still Welcomes Visitors
Step Back in Time in the Goodman-LeGrand House
Article and Photo by Gaile Robinson
This stately home was a gift to the City of Tyler and it is emblazoned with the historic seals and plaques that cause historians to quiver in excitement. They include a Texas Historic Landmark (1964) and a designated Historic Site by the Daughters of the American Republic (2010).
The original four-room house was built in 1859 just prior to the Civil War. The second story was added in 1880, and the portico and massive pillars came with a 1926 remodel. When the last owner, Sallie LeGrand, died in 1939, she left the house, all of its furnishings, and nine acres of grounds to the City of Tyler.
The rooms have the delicate period furniture and décor that was popular over a century ago — not a single cable cord or electronic entertainment option in sight. The tiny kitchen with modest appliances and almost no counter space is a vivid reminder of how much homes and human lives have changed. Not that the kids in the group will notice or care, but it will resonate with their elders.
The Goodman-LeGrand House and Museum is located at 624 North Broadway Avenue. Admission is free with a suggested contribution of $2. The home is open Tuesday through Saturday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., and is closed Sundays, Mondays and national holidays. The LeGrand Park and Gardens is open daily from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Call (903) 531-1286 and visit www.goodmanmuseum.com for more.
On Saturday, December 8, the home offers a "Victorian Christmas Open House" from 4 to 8 p.m. The event features refreshments and live music. Admission is free.