Main Street Programs Reach Reaccreditation


Tyler has been commended for successful annual progress as a designated Main Street community by the Texas Historical Commission. Tyler’s Main Street program was reaccredited with a near perfect score.

Sixty-three designated Main Street programs in Texas were recognized. Besides Tyler, in Northeast Texas they include Canton, Carthage, Clarksville, Corsicana, Gladewater, Grand Saline, Greenville, Henderson, Kilgore, Longview, Mineola, Mount Pleasant, Mount Vernon, Nacogdoches, Palestine, Paris, Rockwall, San Augustine, Texarkana, and Winnsboro.

Accredited programs show above average performance in 10 categories on an annual report. Selection criteria focus on planning, partnerships, staffing, volunteer effort, preservation ethic, training and program assessment through reporting.

For additional information about the national Main Street effort, visit the National Trust Main Street web site at  For more information on the Texas Historical Commission’s Main Street program visit

Edit Module

We encourage you to post thoughtful and respectful comments on our stories and to share them through your favorite social networks.

Add your comment:
Edit ModuleShow Tags